West-End stars gather for The Olivier Awards 2023 with Mastercard Nominees’ Celebration at The Londoner hotel

West-End stars gather for The Olivier Awards 2023 with Mastercard Nominees’ Celebration at The Londoner hotel

Today, on Friday 17 March, the Olivier Awards 2023 with Mastercard hosted their Nominees’ Celebration, in partnership with Cunard at The Londoner hotel, the world’s first super boutique hotel in the heart of London’s theatre district.

Notable nominees such as Rose Ayling-Ellis, Beverley Knight, Rob Madge, Rafe Spall and Giles Terera were in attendance, among many of the other nominated theatre makers.

Guests were served a light afternoon tea complemented by Taittinger champagne and Cunard macarons, whilst mingling and meeting fellow nominees.

During a short presentation, the co-CEOs of Society of London Theatre, Claire Walker and Hannah Essex, and President Eleanor Lloyd, honoured the recipients of the Industry Recognition award. The four winners include casting director Pippa Ailion; Andrew Bruce, founder and Chairman of Autograph Sound Design; Amanda Parker, founder and former Director of IncArts UK; and finally Executive Chairman & joint Chief Executive of PW Productions Peter Wilson.

The presentation also honoured the winners of this year’s Laurence Olivier Bursary. The scheme has been run by the Olivier Awards since 1987, supporting exceptional talent facing financial difficulties in their final year of drama school. Previous bursary winners have included Michaela Coel, Ewan McGregor and Michael Sheen.

This year’s Laurence Olivier Bursary winners:

Daniel Apea

Allie Aylott

Rebecca Bell

Christian Cooper

Neeve Dilworth

Conor Doran

Aimee Ebsworth

Jasmine Elcock

Charles Kofi Afedzi Entsie

Melodie Karczewski

Emily Kathryn

Yasemin Mutlu

Eliza Parry-Williams

Liam Prince-Donnelly

Abdul Sessay

Lindo Shinda

James Taheny

Eve von Elgg

Shannon Watson

The Olivier Awards will take place on Sunday 2 April at the Royal Albert Hall, hosted by Hannah Waddingham. The highlights will be shown on ITV that same evening.

Claire Walker and Hannah Essex, co-CEOs, of SOLT said:

“We were delighted to meet so many of our honoured guests at this afternoon’s event, which has only made us more excited to celebrate their achievements once again at the upcoming ceremony when the winners will be revealed.

“It was an honour to present our recipients with their Industry Recognition awards and recognise their outstanding contribution to the theatre industry. It was wonderful to see our nominees, partners and members coming together to celebrate so many fantastic achievements.  

“And finally, congratulations to the Olivier bursary winners. We are grateful that, once again, we are able to support emerging talent in the industry during such a crucial stage in their careers.