Shortlists announced for the 2016 Edinburgh Comedy Awards
The nominations for Best Comedy Show are:
Al Porter: At Large
James Acaster: Reset
Kieran Hodgson: Maestro
Nish Kumar: Actions Speak Louder Than Words, Unless You Shout the Words Real Loud
Randy Writes A Novel
Richard Gadd: Monkey See Monkey Do
Tom Ballard: The World Keeps Happening
Zoe Coombs Marr: Trigger Warning
The nominations for Best Newcomer are:
Bilal Zafar: Cakes
Brennan Reece: Everglow
Jayde Adams: 31
Michelle Wolf: So Brave
Nath Valvo: Happy Idiot
Scott Gibson: Life After Death
Nica Burns, director of the Edinburgh Comedy Awards said: “Two great nomination lists! 2016 reflects the breadth and quality of comedy at the Edinburgh Fringe with eight nominations for Best Comedy Show for the second year running. Four outstanding stand-ups, a female comic performing in character as Dave, a novel-writing puppet, a wonderful story teller and a comic who is as moving as he is funny.  An international list with four UK artists, three Australians and a Dubliner.
“The six nominees for the Newcomer award are equally international with an Australian and an American, and the vibrancy of the Scottish stand up scene is reflected in the nomination of Glaswegian Scott Gibson and the Best Show nominee, Richard Gadd.
“Our hard-working judging team made over 1400 visits to shows. Congratulations to all the comics at the festival for a brilliant year of comedy.”
There will be a press call with all the nominees on Thursday 25 August at Assembly Checkpoint, 3 Bristo Place, EH1 1EY at 9.45 am.
The winners will be announced on Saturday 27 August at Dovecot Studio, Infirmary Street.
The Awards and prizes are:-
•Best Comedy Show with a cash prize of £10,000
•Best Newcomer with a cash prize of £5,000
•Panel Prize with a cash prize of £5,000
The winners and nominees can be seen at the Edinburgh Comedy Awards Show on Sunday 28 August at 15.30 (17.00) at The Grand, Pleasance Courtyard.
The Fringe Comedy Awards Shows will be at the Lyric Theatre, Shaftesbury Avenue, London on the 17, 24 & 31 October. Tickets exclusively available at