Rehearsal Images for First Revival of Alan Bennett’s THE HABIT OF ART

Rehearsal images for the first revival of Alan Bennett’s THE HABIT OF ART, which opens at York Theatre Royal on 30 August 2018. The National Tour will then continue through to 1 December 2018

Starring Matthew Kelly as Fitz (W. H. Auden) and David Yelland as Henry (Benjamin Britten), the cast also includes Veronica Roberts as Kay, the Stage Manager, Robert Mountford as the Author, Neil, John Wark as Donald (Humphrey Carpenter), Alexandra Guelff as George, the Assistant Stage Manager and Benjamin Chandler as Tim (Stuart). 

Centered on a fictional meeting between poet W. H. Auden and composer Benjamin Britten, THE HABIT OF ART is written as a play-within-a-play – actors Fitz, Henry, Tim and Donald are rehearsing a play called Caliban’s Day under the direction of stage manager, Kay, and in the presence of the playwright, Neil. In Caliban’s Day, a fictitious meeting occurs in 1973 in Auden’s (Fitz) rooms at Oxford not long before he dies. Britten (Henry) has been auditioning boys nearby for his opera Death in Venice, and arrives unexpectedly – their first meeting in 25 years after falling out over the failure of their opera Paul Bunyan.

THE HABIT OF ART is directed by Philip Franks and is produced by The Original Theatre Company, York Theatre Royal, and Ghost Light Productions

2018 TOUR SCHEDULE

30 August – 8 September Theatre Royal York 01904 623568 www.yorktheatreroyal.co.uk

11-15 September Theatre Royal Brighton 0844 871 7650 www.atgtickets.com/venues/theatre-royal-brighton

17-22 September Salisbury Playhouse 01722 320 333 www.salisburyplayhouse.com

24-29 September Oxford Playhouse 01865 305 300 www.oxfordplayhouse.com On sale soon

3-6 October Yvonne Arnaud Theatre, Guildford 01483 44 00 00 www.yvonne-arnaud.co.uk On sale soon

8-13 October New Wolsey, Ipswich 01473 295900 www.wolseytheatre.co.uk

15-20 October Richmond Theatre 0844 871 7651 www.atgtickets.com/venues/richmond-theatre

23-27 October Liverpool Playhouse 0151 709 4776 www.everymanplayhouse.com

29 October – 3 November Cambridge Arts Theatre 01223 503333 www.cambridgeartstheatre.com On sale soon

6-10 November Belgrade Theatre, Coventry 024 7655 3055 www.belgrade.co.uk

12-17 November The Lowry, Salford 0843 208 6000 www.thelowry.com

19-24 November Palace Theatre, Southend 01702 351135 www.palacetheatresouthend.co.uk

27 November – 1 December Malvern Theatres 01684 892277 www.malvern-theatres.co.uk

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *