Full list of Edinburgh award winners

The 2015 Edinburgh Festival Fringe dates were 07 – 31 August.

Full list of awards.


Allen Wright Award
Winner – Griselda Murray Brown
Special Commendation – Holly Williams
Special Commendation – George Sully


Amused Moose Comedy Awards
Winner: Richard Gadd – Waiting for Gaddot (Banshee Labyrinth)
People’s Champion: Jess Robinson – The Rise of Mighty Voice (Pleasance)


The Asian Arts Awards
Winner – Best Production: The Cherry Orchard: Beyond the Truth – Theater Margot (Korea) (C Venues)
Winner – Best Directing: Ms. Shubhra Bhardwaj – Ticket to Bollywood – Ferriswheel Entertainment Pvt. Ltd. (New Town Theatre)

Brighton Fringe Award for Excellence in association with Sweet Venues
Winner: Police Cops – This Theatre – Zoo Venues


The Broadway Baby Bobby Award
Winners: Captain Morgan 1: The Sands of Time and Captain Morgan 2: The Sea of Souls – Ben Behrens / Tap Tap Theatre (Pleasance)
Richard III – Brite Theatre – Just Festival
Luke McQueen: Double Act – Luke McQueen / The Invisible Dot Ltd. (Pleasance)


Carol Tambor Best of Edinburgh Award
Winner: Key Change – Open Clasp Theatre Company in association with Live Theatre (Summerhall)


Dave’s Funniest Joke of the Fringe
Darren Walsh (Pleasance)


Edinburgh Comedy Poster Awards
Panel Prize: Tom Parry – Yellow Tshirt (Just the Tonic)
Audience Award: Michael Stranney & Olaf Falafel – Expect the Unexporcupine (Cowgatehead)


Euan’s Guide Accessible Fringe Awards
Winner: The Solid Life of Sugar Water (Pleasance)
Runner Up: Wendy Hoose by Johnny McKnight (Assembly Rooms)
Accessible Venue Award: Dance Base


The Foster’s Edinburgh Comedy Awards
Best Comedy Show – Sam Simmons – Spaghetti for Breakfast (Underbelly)
Best Newcomer – Sofie Hagen – Bubblewrap (Liquid Room Annexe)
Panel Prize – Karen Koren


Fringe Review Outstanding Theatre Awards
The Frantic Canticles of Little Brother Fish (Bedlam Theatre)

Pip Utton…Playing Maggie (Assembly Rooms)


2015 Fringe Sustainable Practice Award
Lungs (Summerhall)


The Herald Angel Award

Winners – Week 1
Correction (Zoo Venues)
Fake it till you Make it (Traverse Theatre)
Little Devil Award: The artists and facilitators of Underbelly Circus Hub

Winners – Week 2

Penny Arcade: Longing Lasts Longer (Underbelly)

Aceh Meukondore (C Venues)

Winners – Week 3

Herald Archangel Award: Maureen Beattie for The Jennifer Tremblay Trilogy  (Assembly Festival)

Herald Angel Award: Cathal McConnell
Little Devil Award: Our Ladies of Perpetual Succour (Traverse Theatre)

Holden Street Theatres Award
A Gambler’s Guide to Dying (Traverse Theatre)
Labels (Pleasance)


The Malcom Hardee Awards
Comic Originality – Michael Brunstrom
Cunning Stunt Award – Matt Roper
Act Most likely to make a million quid – Laurence Owen

The Scottish Arts Club Award for Best Scottish Play

Swallow – Stef Smith (Traverse Theatre)


The Scotsman Fringe First Awards

Winners – Week 1
A Gambler’s Guide to Dying (Traverse Theatre)
Going Viral  (Summerhall)
The Christians (Traverse Theatre)
Swallow  (Traverse Theatre)
The Deliverance (Assembly Festival)
Underneath (Dance Base)
The History of the World Through Banalities (Summerhall)

Winners – Week 2

Light Boxes (Summerhall)

Raz (Assembly Festival)

Citizen Puppet  (Pleasance)

Labels  (Pleasance)

Tar Baby  (Gilded Balloon)

Trans Scripts  (Pleasance)

The Great Downhill Journey of Little Tommy (Summerhall)

Winners – Week 3

A Girl is a Half-formed Thing by Eimear McBride (Traverse Theatre)

Our Ladies of Perpetual Succour (Traverse Theatre)

Penny Arcade: Longing Lasts Longer (Underbelly)

What I Learned From Johnny Bevan (Summerhall)

A Reason to Talk (Summerhall)

Primary Times Children’s Choice Award
The Voice Thief (Summerhall)


So You Think You’re Funny?
Luca Cupani: Still Falling (Heroes @ Bob’s Blundabus)


The Stage Awards for Acting Excellence

Winners – Week 1
Molly Vevers – Ross and Rachel (Assembly Festival)
Aoife Duffin – A Girl Is A Half-Formed Thing (Traverse Theatre)

Winners – Week 2

Andy Gray – Willie & Sabastian  (Gilded Balloon)

Sean Michael Verey – Tonight with Donny Stixx (Pleasance)

1972: The Future of Sex  (Zoo Venues)

Pip Utton…Playing Maggie (Assembly Rooms)

Winners – Week 3

Ensemble from Police Cops – This Theatre (Zoo Venues)

Maureen Beattie – The Jennifer Tremblay Trilogy  (Assembly Festival)

Ensemble from UKIP! The Musical  (theSpaceUK)

Lizzie Clarke – Molly  (Pleasance)

Ensemble from Our Ladies of Perpetual Succour (Traverse Theatre)

Total Theatre Awards

Emerging Company/Artist: The Beanfield  (theSpaceUK)
Physical/Visual Theatre: Oog  (Dance Base)
Innovation/Experimentation & Playing with Form: Can I Start Again Please (Summerhall)
Portraits In Motion (Summerhall)
Total Theatre & The Place Award for Dance: Vertical Influences  (Assembly Festival)
Total Theatre & Jacksons Lane Award for Circus: B-Orders (Underbelly) and
Smoke and Mirrors  (Assembly Festival)